The Doomster's Monolithic Pocket Alphabet


Writer: Theo Prasidis
Artist: Maarten Donders
Publisher: Image Comics
Released: November 22, 2017
Diamond ID: SEP170626
Age Rating: M

In five decades of wretched existence, Doom Metal has evolved into a vast orchard of unearthly delights. Bongs, goats, amps and a lot of naked nuns, all collide into this stunningly visualized, whimsical, mature-rated gift book. Explore the genre’s unholy rites with THE DOOMSTER’S MONOLITHIC POCKET ALPHABET, the definitive illustrated lexicon of all things doom. Or be doomed!

Written by Theo Prasidis, illustrated by Maarten Donders and published by Image Comics, THE DOOMSTER’S MONOLITHIC POCKET ALPHABET is a 64 page, full-color, pocket-sized, hardcover book that puts a cheeky spin on small illustrated books in the vein of Edward Gorey’s The Gashlycrumb Tinies and Tim Burton’s The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy.

TRAILER


PRESS

An excellent gift for the Doomster in your life as this ode to all things Doom delights from page to page with Doom-centric content. The writing is clever, and the illustrations are fantastic. Give this one a read. 8/10


A Greek on the words and vision and a Dutch on the drawings unite their forces in order to pay a visual tribute to the Iommic riffage and everything else connected to the slowest and most cursed child, spawned out of heavy metal’s womb: doom metal. Not just a book with random pictures, but an all-things-doom alphabet with short descriptive texts and accompanying illustrations that bring them to life, passionately created by two people who apart from their art, they know their music as well, as followers and not just tourists who saw a joint and a naked nun and entered. Clever writing with good humor, right use of English, and beautiful, vibrantly colored illustrations that bring to mind Roadburn’s psychedelic approach to doom. If you wonder what do we listen to while doing… doom yoga, which doom-related word matches with the letter X, what kind of trousers should a doomster wear, how many different mushroom species you can eat listening to Electric Wizard, or you just wanna own a short but delightful manual on music’s heaviest expression, Prasidis and Donders got you covered.

Metal Hammer #401


Arousal for your eyes and brain, the only thing that it’s missing is the audio, but trust me it will channel your inner primordial need for some low key sounds. While you are reading it you‘ll think associatively and go and play it in your stereo.

 

I can’t thank Theo and Maarten enough for the work they’ve done, Image Comics for putting it out, or hell, Fat Moose for stocking it. I am so deeply honored and deeply humbled by the entire idea.


A book you'll enjoy opening up multiple times and share with friends, in a Bible-initiation kind of way. 

Vacarm

 

An introduction to the miasma of Doom Metal, something that would not only help open the crypt to those curious about the darkness of the music and culture but also something to help teach the doom spawn their early alphabet. 3.5/5


If you thought the prologue was great, like I did, wait for the rest of the book. It starts and ends hilariously, staying with the alphabet book theme. I’m so glad I got to read this book, even though it’s super short. The art is amazing and really brings the whole thing together. 5/5


A love letter to doomsters. It’s short, it’s fun, and it’s cute. […] It’s a great book for a collection, or something to keep as a coffee table book.

Looking Glass Reads

 

 A to Z it is an excellent reference to Doom Metal. 4/5

 

LINKS

Image Comics Page
Facebook Page
Goodreads Page
Maarten Donders Page

GRAB A COPY

Amazon Amazon UK Book Depository Barnes & Noble Comixology Image Comics Local Comic Shop

Created with Mozello - the world's easiest to use website builder.

 .